Mayes Cottage House Museum
Step back in time to experience life of a bygone era.
Mayes Cottage is a well-preserved timber home built in 1887 that was home to the Mayes family for 100 years. See the original slab hut, shed and milking yard, and walk in the large garden among beautiful fruit trees planted in the early 1880s.
John and Emily Mayes and their two small children, Joshua and Ruth, arrived in Brisbane from England in 1871. The following year they took up a selection of land in Scrubby Creek, Kingston and built a two-room slab hut which still stands today in the grounds.
The family lived in the slab hut until construction of the new house was completed. Then the Mayes family moved into the house they named Pleasant Place. Five more children were born to John and Emily: Rachel, Mary, Josiah, Leonard and Edith. The house features some original family furniture dating from the 1880s to the 1930s.
The tranquil grounds are a welcome relief from the modern world. Enjoy the serenity with family or friends, bring a picnic or take a free guided tour with the passionate volunteers.